FRETS.NET

Charvel 625C with a Mystery finish applied over the top - removal options needed

Pleased to present for your consideration. . . . . . . . .

Also, I'm a hobbyist, not a professional repair person.   

Today I purchased a used Charvel 625C acoustic.  It is a Korean made guitar from the 1994-1998 era. Has nice looking abalone, I think, around the top and sound hole.  Top and sides appear to be laminates. Cannot tell for sure what the original finish is. But the neck was already attached when the finish was applied.  Smooth rounded off surface where the heel and body meet.

Seems to have been a nice $400-500 guitar when new. A previous owner cut back the mandolin style fingerboard extension over the sound hole. 

Here's a few before pictures.  Ghost cowboy image doesn't show up in pictures, maybe a vampire cowboy?

A previous owner applied a Mylar or some type of sticky plastic stencil decal picture over the top.  It was not one sheet, but a series of shapes that created the image in relief.    Then hand applied a top coat of some unknown finish across the entire top.  Bubbles, runs and various imperfections in the finish.  It ran over the sides onto the binding and had an dark, almost amber color.  No idea how long ago it was applied.

The binding cleaned up easily with a scraper.  Dribbles that got on the sides came off easily with gentile and careful scraping.  After removing the all the decal pieces you can see the witness lines where the hand applied top coat was applied.

Without knowing what this top coat is, any suggestions on how you would go about testing it and then how to remove the top coat and leave the factory coat in tack? Going from the least invasive to most drastic, sanding off both finishes.

Never worked on a top with abalone inlays, any special considerations to watch for?

The bridge is loose and I plan to remove it, so I can work on the finish before reattaching it.