FRETS.NET

Hello folks

As a newcomer, it's nice to be here.  I'm a self-taught novice builder and completed my first dreadnaught this past spring.  The only components I didn't craft myself were the linings and the maple bindings (no kits).  I even made my own bending jig.  It could have been beginners luck, but somehow I was able to produce an instrument with excellent tonal quality and sustain.  But unfortunately I set the neck angle too narrow and will never achieve the low action and playability most skilled guitarists would desire without a reset, myself included.  In building this instrument I used 3 different books, 2 sets of blueprints and an untold number of articles and videos from the web, absolutely none of which give clear instruction in setting a proper neck angle.  Everyone speaks of its importance but no one seems to be able to clearly demonstrate how to go about it, or if they do, it's made out to be more complicated than it really is.  More importantly, no one addresses the simple relationship between the top of the fretboard and the bridge.  

Here is my question for any builders or setup experts who might care to respond.  Is there not a simple rule-of-thumb for aligning the top of the fretboard to a specific height at the front of the bridge? For example, if I were to place a straight edge on top of my unfretted fretboard (no relief) and extend it across the top of the soundhole to the front of the bridge, how far below or above the top of the bridge should that line ideally intersect?  I understand that bridge and fretboard heights can vary, within limits, depending on the builder and design, but it seems to me that on any steel stringed guitar, that point of intersection should be fairly consistent to maximize setup. My limited experience tells me that it should be around 1/32 to 1/16 below the top of the bridge at normal humidity?