FRETS.NET

Some of you will be familiar with older instruments that have fingerboards and/or headstock overlays made of "ebonized" woods (often pearwood). I understand that the idea is to make relatively cheaper woods look like ebony. I have read that the process involves treating the base wood with nitric acid. Does anyone know more details about the process?

Of course, the nitric acid treatment yields wood that deteriorates over the years, often getting very brittle and exhibiting numerous shrinkage cracks. Some of it gets very friable, almost like soft chalk. I find this next to impossible to work with in rehabilitation of antique instruments (I stick to banjos). Has anyone some tips of working with this ill-treated wood? I have used cyanoacrylates but them don't seem to soak in very well, leaving a sort of haed shell.

In my former life I was a professional archaeologist and I know that curators treated delicate wooden specimens with a chemical called PEG (polyethylene glycol). It is a available in a variety of molecular weights. One the light end, it is a watery solution that soaks into the wood. The heavier ones are a hard wax-lke substance with preserves, stabilizes, and strenghtens the wood. Has anyone tried this substance on instruments?

Tim Smith
http://savethebanjos.com

Views: 132

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Tim,
Like you I have used Cyano and it works well as far as fret slot strengthening, but not as a revitalizer of the board itself.
I know PEG is basically antifreeze with an additional polymer,and I can see it wicking in, as far as the stuff on the thin end of the spectrum.
I would wonder if the poly would cause it to have poor glue retention in areas saturated with.
Pearwood eats me up sometimes, it goes south on you pretty quick,
Vinnie
You can thin the CA with acetone, you know, for better penetration. The other problem with it is occasionally it'll turn white if it kicks off too quickly, so be careful about that.