FRETS.NET

I am in Germany for a few months and found a 1962 Rodebald Hoyer Broadway guitar, it is an archtop with a sunburst paint job, lacquer finished (completely checked) and a loose neck. It was almost never played and has been hanging out in an attic for 45 years. The fingerboard and frets are perfect but the paint is flaking off on the head and the neck appears to be loose. There are plastic bands that run around the sides that have come away and don't appear to have enough slack to be re-glued.

I took off the strings and the bridge looks great. I just got this today so everything is already closed for the evening but tomorrow I will head to the paint store in the next town to try to find something I can use to restore the lacquer.

I have never tried anything this ambitious before and I am in a foreign country to boot so I am hoping the good people here can help out with this project. I am attaching pics of the instrument, the checking, and the logo.

Tags: archtop, repair

Views: 1089

Attachments:

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Bryn
Just a few notes of caution. I was given a Hoyer in similar condition last year- crazed finish, cracking bindings etc. The owner wanted it re-finished. When I checked around, I found that Hoyers had some value which could be compromised by any re-finish work. The trend over here at least seems to require that guitars show all the signs of age, so I tend to steer clear of restoration!