FRETS.NET

I have been using water-borne finish (KTM-9) because of the difficulty in using lacquer in a safe manner. I do not have experience (say, as a cabinet maker) in producing really nice finish. My finishes come out kind of blotchy -- some parts glossy and other parts a bit dull. I wonder if I am not getting the surface flat before buffing? This seems kind of difficult with wood that is a little concave/convex due to bending, clamping, etc. Any hints/wisdom/common sense you can share with me?

Also, it seems like when I tried wet sanding on the KTM-9 after it had set up for 2 weeks, the finish quickly dulled -- is that what it is supposed to do? Or do you have to wait more than 2 weeks to wet sand?

Thanks in advance,
Gary

Views: 429

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Caveat: I have no experience with KTM-9, but a fair amount of finish experience. I don't think a non-flat surface has anything to do with your blotchy outcome. Are you using compound and buff recommended for this finish? Material is fresh, mixed thoroughly and applied correctly?

Wet sanding should produce a very even, level surface with a tiny scratch pattern that feels very smooth. Is your paper loading up? If so, some areas of the finish aren't curing properly.

I'm sure someone with water-borne experience will chime in. If you can get a meaningful picture of the problem, that would doubtless help.
Greg,
Thanks, I will look elsewhere (other than worrying about non flat surfaces). I think I am using the compound and buff recommended for the finish -- I am using Menzerna compound with a buffing wheel. Of course I am not so sure about the "applied correctly" :-) I haven't been wet sanding because the few times I tried to do so, it seemed to dull the finish considerably. The paper did not seem to be loading up, though.