FRETS.NET

I'm a hobbyist builder and I'm re-gluing a bridge on a 12 string guitar.  I know the basics and have done it before: scrape the surfaces clean, use hot hide glue, etc.  However, when I removed the old bridge there was a lot of damage to the spruce top under the bridge.  It seems that I must route out the damage and inset an inlay.  Does this sound like a good idea? What else could I do?  The problem in the first place was that the bridge was glued over a large perimeter of finish.  I will rectify this by making it full contact all the way around.  Thanks for your help.

Views: 868

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

When I encounter something this bad:

I use the same species of wood for the patches as that of the top and maintain the same grain orientation and run-out as the top.

I try to keep the glue joints away from the perimeter of the bridge's foot-print so the bridge itself helps span the problem area.

I try to keep the cross grain joints running as close to the grain as possible as the cross-grain joints are the weakest part of this sort of repair.

I keep the glue joints away from the pin holes because that's the top's folding point.

I avoid running cross grain joints. I break them up if I can by putting them at different latitudes and different angles. I think of this like avoiding running joints in a dry stacked stone wall.

If it's possible, I taper the thickness of the patch and mortise with the grain so it's thickest in the center, then feathers out to nothing.

I treat the patches like inlays. I lay them out, cut them out, then cut the mortises in the top and I'll radius the bottom of the mortise if possible.

I glue the patches in with hide glue, then plane chisel and scrape them flush with the surrounding glue joint.

I'll upload a photo of a rather extreme example of how I patched some previous damage I encountered during a bridge re-reglue.
Attachments:

Thanks for the info Nathan, the picture really helped.