FRETS.NET

I bought this 1953 guitar that I paid perhaps a little too much for, but with which I am completely in love, because it has an incredible sound, it sounds almost overdriven-the typical instrument that you can never put down. It has some unusual features, though, like the color of the back and sides, a color that seems to be too light compared to the standard for acoustic Gibsons. Someone told me that it might be an instrument that some worker at Gibson might have requested or built exclusively for himself. My opinion, among others, is that the neck to me seems to have even been replaced, and probably the bridge as well. I wonder if any experts can give me any insight on this, and I thank everyone who can help me.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Views: 250

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Well, I'm no expert, but here's some conjecture: The neck binding is very white, blindingly so unless its the picture.  If that isn't the original neck then it was replaced by Gibson near when that guitar was made. I propose the neck is original,  was refinished, rebound, re-fretted (just a guess). You don't show the neck joint but I would bet the neck was reset or needs to be. Is there a serial number on the back of the headstock? Is there a label inside?

The tuners are new. They are much too clean. I do like safety posts (like on a fender) but they seems a bit out of place here. I am sure these tuners are much better than the originals.

The bridge looks replaced. I think these had through saddles. My guess is the original bridge got damaged and somebody made a very nice replacement. No one asked, but I prefer the blind slot as shown.

The back might have been refinished. It has a lot more checking than the rest of the instrument. Maybe someone got a little overzealous and needed to recolor the back.

I suggest this guitar had some issues and someone fixed them without boogering the guitar in the process. I'll bet it sounds great.