FRETS.NET

Greetings, I have a j-40mc Jumbo Martin with an interior pickup. My problem is the low e strings sustains to much causing what is close to feed back. I tried eq-ing it out but lose the sound. I'm new to NC, relocated from Laguna Beach, CA, and don't have access to a guitar shop as of yet. Is there some thing I can do to make this tolerable until I can get it professionally fixed. Thank you for your input.

Ed Fry

Views: 142

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Ed,
(first of all I'm guessing you've tried a feedback buster?)
I've had the same problem myself with a customers Gibson jumbo that fed-back in A at the slightest sign of amplification - it was pretty much unusable to the guy.
A friend had the same issue with a top o' the line Martin, he called them and they effectively said "what do you want us to do, tell our luthiers to make less resonant guitars? ...'fraid not!"
fair point!

The easiest way out i could think of is 'in ear' monitoring, but you could experiment with adding mini braces etc....i feel you may be on a hiding to nothing, and its obviously undesirable to mess with a nice guitar in that way.
Tricky problem...
my customer had his guitar changed for free by the distibutor, so i never go the chance to try and fix it...i'd have started by trying a brace jack in different places and gone from there.
let us know how you get on,
good luck,
steve
Hi Ed,

If I understand the problem correctly, the low E wants to howl when the guitar is amplified and you are happy enough with the guitar unamplified.

One idea might be to rig up a mute, like the Van Eps string damper, that sits on the E string just past the nut. Perhaps this could mount under the tuning machine washer so no permanent ugliness is inflicted.

I went looking for an image of the damper and look what I found:

http://www.batten.com/content/view/41/1/