FRETS.NET

All Discussions Tagged 'glue' (20)

Discussions Replies Latest Activity

Closing of cracks

Dear luthiers I have a question about repairing cracks in flat tops. I have read what I have found about this topic in this forum, but I ha…

Started by Bob Steinarsson

6 Jun 6, 2020
Reply by Roger Häggström

CA glue darkens wood..

So, I tried my first attempt at drop filling a chip in a spruce top with CA glue. Not so good... The CA darkens the wood so that it is very…

Started by Palle Clausen

6 Dec 19, 2017
Reply by Palle Clausen

Stick Glue - Neck Reset

A friend of mine who happens to be blind asked me to adjust his old Alvarez.  The action was pretty high and the saddle was almost depleted…

Started by E Michael Johnson

3 Feb 24, 2016
Reply by Matt Dreher

Frank Ford's Adhesive Use Chart

I'm a hide glue novice and wanted to ask why (according to the Frank's glue chart)  PVA glue would be preferred for back braces but hide gl…

Started by Craig Walsh

5 Nov 1, 2015
Reply by eliya

Weld-on glue VS. Titebond

Hey All, I was wondering if you can help through something. I'm doing a complete re-bind on an Old Country Gent. I've done a handful of the…

Started by Steve Baker

5 Sep 20, 2014
Reply by Jon Hiltbrand

Superglue wicking on Fretboard

I used superglue on the ends of the frets I installed on a curley maple fretboard.  Any way to remove? Would HHG have been a better idea?

Started by Ron Daves

28 May 29, 2014
Reply by Ron Daves

White glue for top cracks and cleats?

So, I am a hide glue adherent. (See what I did there?) My buddy who has roughly 50 years of experience repairing instruments strongly sugg…

Started by Mark Pollock

3 May 7, 2014
Reply by Ned Knepp

Hot Hide Glue vs. cold glues

I'm almost ready with my shop to have to do the first glue applications. I was wondering what you guys favor, hot hide glue or cold glues?…

Started by Micha Schellhaas

11 Feb 7, 2014
Reply by Micha Schellhaas